Best Friends

WP_000459Somewhere over the past month, my children have become best friends. Which isn’t to say they weren’t friends before, just that it’s jumped ahead recently to the point where they consider each other not just to be sisters, but besties. It’s really very sweet, and totally unexpected.

The three of them have such differing personalities, and they’ve certainly had their share of conflict – as they go through all the various ages and stages, it’s bound to happen. I remember earlier years with my brother and the conflicts we had, until we became best friends and confidants as well, though I am pretty sure we were much older than my lot are.

I’m going to give some credit for this to ritalin, as it’s really allowed them to have some amazing moments where Ivy is connected and compassionate. This has fed their friendship in ways I didn’t think would happen, and those sweet moments, those patches where they connect have seemed to have changed them all a bit. In the same way that success breeds success, positive interactions breed more of the like. I knew this, logically speaking, but I’ve never seen it from the outside before, where the parties weren’t specifically trying to mend a breach in a relationship, but simply responding differently because one persons personality had changed slightly.

Even when she’s not on the ritalin they are best friends, and I think it’s awesome. I’m thrilled beyond words. They are talking about where they might live together when they move out of home, which is sweet (and thank goodness, because until now no-one was planning on leaving home! LOL).

About two months ago I moved Ivy into her own room Ā – she wanted the space, and we all thought it was a good idea. Over the last few weeks they have been asking to move back in together and today, I did a room shuffle. It’s a squeeze in there because not only do they want to share a room, they also want their beds to be next to each other. It’s not the most visually appealing space, but they LOVE it, and there is a lazy boy under Ivy’s loft bed so that I can read to them before bed and be comfortable as I sit and wait for them to sleep. No more bean bags for me šŸ˜‰

I have a feeling it will be hard to get them to sleep tonight, but hopefully because we’ve collaborated on a new night-time routine, their 10 minutes of private girl talk time will be enough to satisfy. And if it’s not, well, I’ll let them enjoy it tonight. It’s balm to my soul to see them connecting in ways they haven’t until now.

2 thoughts on “Best Friends

Leave a Reply

