The Cosmodome

WP_20140508_001Our homeschooling group organized some visits to a local school who had the Cosmodome show running. I’d never heard of it before, and there was a HUGE response.

We went on Thursday last week – it was a dreary afternoon, chilly and drizzly, so the kids made the most of the mostly empty hall to hoon around in and play games before we got started. It was a great way to burn off some energy before heading into the dome and sitting down for a chunk of time.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but I was super excited! We all piled in through the squishy door and sat down. The dome was surprisingly spacious on the inside and there was plenty of room. We started off by singing twinkle twinkle little star, and as we sang, the stars came up in the sky. It was pretty cool!

I didn’t take photos inside, so you’ll just have to trust me. I was more interested in having the experience myself, and sharing it with my kids. Ivy lay on the floor for most of it, while Natalie moved back and forth between me and one of her favourite adults. Lauren rested her head on my leg for chunks of it, and danced for other parts (they played Daft Funks ‘Around the World’ on our trip back to earth from the far reaches of the universe).

Natalie’s favourite part was when the dome was covered with constellations with the images of them overlaying (so, a scorpio, and Orion, etc), while Lauren and Ivy both liked the simulations best. I was really impressed by how well it was done – it really did feel like we were floating in zero gravity. Very cool. The kids are looking forward to visiting the observatory on a clear night now, and Ivy was creating her own constellations yesterday and flicking through the star book I got a few months ago. We’re planning on making our solar system at some point, and doing some star art.

Leave a Reply

