Determination

IMG_20140711_151558678 IMG_20140711_151624760 IMG_20140711_154404598We were at a friends house a few months ago when Lauren decided it was time to learn to ride a bike. Now, we have zero concrete at our house and live on a busy road, so we don’t have any bikes or places to ride them at our house. She’s literally never been on one before, and while I feel a little bad about that, we’ve just never been a biking family.

Lauren didn’t stop until she got it. Despite the bike being a bit wobbly, and falling off multiple times as a result, she kept getting back on, kept at it until she was confident in her ability. She stuck at it for an hour or so, and even when it was time to go home kept asking for just one more round.

I love it when she decides she wants to do something. Her sheer determination is something I’m delighted by, and the grin on her face, the look of pride when she masters something she set out to do is priceless.

We’re looking at getting bikes/scooters for Christmas now. I might have to get something for myself too, because once they’ve got wheels I’m never going to be able to keep up! lol

3 thoughts on “Determination

  1. Gosh you are getting good at pumping these blog posts out! I must get myself organised and do the same. I might have to do a “here’s a dump of everything up to now” though, as I think that’s something that’s been holding me back – the need to be chronological.

    I just wanted to say that I had also recently looked at getting myself a scooter too, to keep up with the kids. They looked pretty expensive, but let me know if you find anything good, because I might join you 🙂

    J.

    Sent from my iPad.

    >

    • Cool! I think the adult ones are definitely more expensive, but probably worth it too. I can’t see me on a bike LOL.
      Now that I’m done studying, I have more time to blog! lol it’s nice to reflect on all the things the kids have done this year. Hoping to get to the point where I am all up to date 😉

  2. Go her! I remember a similar amount of determination in learning to ride a bike. I would bike on the lawn over and over and moced like half a metre forward lol. One morning,two older boys passed and laughed at me, which gave me enough of a push to ride across the whole lawn. Which was about 10m but hey 🙂

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

